Month: June 2010

  • Baby Blanket Half Done

    So I started this baby blanket before (kind of right before) the baby was born, and now that baby can grab things in a swipe or two, and is 90 degrees into rolling over.

    It will be (it will be) a blanket of my own design. It’s made of mitered squares. One thing I have learned as a knitter is that I I rebel against learning to read patterns. It’s just way too gnostic. I will read a work of prose on knitting, such as Module Magic, and I see that what creativity I possess in this process consists of working out my own simple designs.

    Which leads me to consistency. It bugs me that really good handwork should look, on some level, machine-made. Or without obvious flaws. Consistency  is not a intellectual hurdle for the best knitters I know, such as Rebecca Osborn, because they have the physical skills to make it happen. Me, every time I lose count, I get all ontological.

    And if I’m going to be responsible for the design of something, there should be some consistency. It’s not happening yet. I have tried to make the miters of these squares run in a consistent pattern. I spent way too much time taking out and flipping two. And yet one is still wrong. Can you see it?

    Should I fix it?