February 23, 2011

  • Sitting and Knitting continues

    Here we have an experiment of two kinds.

    Like many places, we’ve had a ton of snow, and my husband has been the main, and sometimes the only shoveler. About two storms ago, he was clutching his forearm and flexing his hand. So I thought he could join Ray Allen in his use of an arm sleeve. Not even Ray, I don’t think, has one in Icelandic wool.

    It also seemed like a good time to experiment with different stitches on a knitting loom. I feel a little defensive about the round knitting looms, their glowing plastic colors, coy misspellings in the most popular brand, and their perceived lack of sophistication. But I like them. For a cowardly knitter like me, they are a great introduction into knitting, especially that part of knitting that requires you to make complicated motions correctly every single time while another part of your brain listens to something else.

    But to advance, you need to learn how to knit and purl on these. There are lots of instructions out there, but the best tutorial I got on rib knitting was this badly shot but lucid video. It shows the secret of purling on a round loom — taking the stitch off the peg and putting it back on.
     
    So I experimented with different combinations of stitches and ended up with this:

    And on the arm, it looks like this:

    The yarn is Hosuband, 80 percent wool, 20 percent nylon, bought at Alafoss.

    The sleeve and a little liniment seems to have helped. We’ll see how the experiment impacts the progress of my knitting skills and any future snow.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *