January 24, 2010

  • Haiti and grown-up knitting

    Well, others are giving concerts, texting donations, and raising money for the enormous work that needs to be done in Haiti following the earthquake.

    Me, I knit a washcloth. The ends need trimming.

    It will be part of  one of the baby-care kits that my church, Trinity Baptist, and other churches and groups in Arlington and in America are assembling for Church World Service for distribution in Haiti.

    And this effort has been the motivation for me to try to knit like a grown-up, or at least, to improve by casting-on, purling, and binding-off skills. One blogger lamented that girls were not learning these skills at their mothers’ knees. Well, I did, and I must have missed something, because I have continued to my childish loopy knitting for way too long.

    So I turned first to books and thento the Internet. Of the many books, videos, and web sites, the clearest I have found, the one that resulted in the decent-looking edges above, is from How Stuff Works.

    Now, I have some baby-weight acrylic given to me by a church member that I hope to turn into a baby blanket or two. A sweater? Maybe, if I can get the blankets to look as if they were knit by a grown-up.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *